66 Main Street (Rte. 133)
PO Box 277
Essex, Massachusetts 01929
Dr. David M. Driscoll, President
Essex Historical Society and Shipbuilding Museum tells the extraordinary story of a small New England village that built more two-masted wooden fishing schooners than any other place in the world. Shipbuilding in Essex began before 1668. By 1849 as many as 15 shipyards were producing over 50 vessels a year. In all, more than 4,000 wooden vessels had been launched into the Essex River.
Visit our new website to explore our collection, purchase nautical items, maritime books, hats, T-shirts and more along with original fine art for sale!